Tado is one of few tribes in Flores that still preserve their culture and its environment. Tado is divided into 12 settlements, Noa, Pusut, Bibang, Kumbek, Nampar, Lalang, Mengkaleng, Kota Tado, Waemunting, Dange, Dahot, and Tado Longge. Administratively, Tado is divided into two villages, Sano Nggoang and Nampar Macing. Tado language is Kempo Manggarai.

Pusut settlement

Pusut, one of twelve Tado's settlements


The Tado community (Masyarakat Tado) are 15th generation descendents of immigrant Sulawesi ancestry who fled Islamic persecution sometime in the 16th or 17th century and settled on Flores island, intermarrying with resident natives and slaves imported from the Bima sultanate. Linguistically the Tado pertain to the Kempo Manggarai language group, consisting of nineteen villages (two of which pertain to the Tado) in the Sano Nggoang sub-district. The Tado live in twelve settlements (mukang) established at elevations from 100 – 500 m a.s.l. between 08º 38’ – 40’ S latitude and 120º 02’ – 07’ E longitude.

The Tado Cultural Ecology Conservation Program began in 1997-98 as a series of discussions between ECO-SEA, Tado elders, and local government officials. The program is housed in the Tado Community Research and Education Center (Pusat Penelitian dan Pendidikan Masyarakat Tado, or P3MT), a traditionally designed building constructed on Tado common lands, sanctified by Tado elders, and inaugurated in a ceremony conducted by Tado leaders and community members in 2000. A cooperative agreement, signed by ECO-SEA and twenty-four Tado leaders, assigns ownership of the Center to the Tado while allowing ECO-SEA access to the Center for the duration of their collaborative research program. The Center is used and managed by a rotating staff of Tado research associates in consultation with Tado elders and ECO-SEA.


%d bloggers like this: